#IngredientSpotliht: Gluten

It’s found in more than just bread.   

Yes, gluten can be found in your morning toast, delicious pastries and more…but also in your makeup products, too!

Many of us diagnosed with celiac disease and non-celiac gluten sensitivities won’t be surprised at this. Gluten, however, is increasingly controversial; many experts claim that it is safe for topical application, while others believe that gluten is harmful for most people and that everyone can do without it in their makeup products.

 To help you wade through the wide bread-th (pun intended!) of misinformation surrounding gluten, particularly on its role in makeup products, read on for your answers to the 4 most frequently asked questions about gluten! 

1. “What is gluten?”



We’re glad you asked. Gluten is a family of proteins commonly found in grains such as wheat, rye, barley and spelt. The two main proteins in gluten are glutenin and gliadin—the latter being responsible for triggering most adverse reactions toward gluten. Non-gluten free makeup can contain wheat, barley, rye and oat-derived ingredients.

However, where does the problem lie? It lies in the fact that as many as the top 10 cosmetic companies in the US were found to rarely label gluten and its derivatives clearly on the ingredient lists of eye makeup palettes, liquid eyeliners, and lip and cheek makeup products! This is worrisome as sensitive-skinned consumers could experience strong and negative reactions to even the most minute amounts of gluten. Symptoms can manifest on the skin as contact dermatitis with itchy rashes, and uncomfortable blisters on the lips and eyes!

2. “Are there other names that gluten goes by in makeup product ingredient lists?”

As we mentioned previously, hidden sources of gluten are often not clearly identified; as such, there is a higher likelihood of not finding it in mislabeled makeup products. If you’re starting to look toward gluten-free makeup product alternatives, the first step would be to analyze the ingredient lists of your favorite eye makeup palettes, liquid eyeliners, lip and cheek makeup products more closely. Gluten often goes by its other scientific names on makeup product ingredient lists such as:   

  • Triticum Vulgare (wheat)
  • Hordeum Vulgare (barley)
  • Avena Sativa (oatmeal)
  • Vitamin E (not scientific, but Vitamin E is sometimes derived from a wheat germ).

3. “Are there specific makeup products that we should choose to go gluten-free with?”

It’s better to be safe than sorry when it comes to gluten in your makeup products. Before swapping to gluten-free makeup products entirely, take a step back and assess your current makeup There are certain makeup products that you should be going completely gluten-free with, particularly if there is a higher likelihood of ingestion (e.g. lip makeup products).

If you also tend to use your base makeup products to prime your lips for a pop of color, you can easily apply a sheer layer of Liht Organics‘ gluten free Youth Elixir Liquid Foundation or Anti-Aging BB Cream as a base. Then, finish it off a swipe of the Color-Intense Liquid Lipstick or Moisture Burst Lip Glaze in a vibrant shade and finish that you love. These lip-smacking gluten-free formulas also smell of delicious vanilla, so we won’t blame you if ever wanted a taste of it!

    Taste the amazing world of gluten free makeup with Liht Organics a  highly recommended organic brand based in Singapore. We stock a wide range of gluten-free makeup that are also completely cruelty-free, vegan, organic and natural with no harmful chemicals! Check out the full range of gluten-free and natural beauty range here now.